I walked on a frozen lake.

So, I walked up to Sognsvann yesterday with Marina and Linea – my flatmates. The snow was falling and it was white everywhere! There is an ice field for skating! Not that I plan on going anywhere near it… it would really be a fitting end to this semester should I injure myself!! We walked on the lake – I was quite surprised it was frozen, if I’m honest – I wouldn’t have thought it cold enough, but apparently so! We didn’t walk far onto it, if the ice had cracked, we would have merely been up to our knees – it needs longer to freeze, I think, though that is not to say that I will be going further onto the ice when that happens… I’m happy near the edge!! Anyway, her are some photos:

Snow falling thick and fast before the walk to Sognsvann 04/12/09

Snow falling thick and fast before the walk to Sognsvann 04/12/09

The snow outside my block at Kringsja 04/12/2009

The snow outside my block at Kringsja 04/12/2009

Kringsja 04/12/2009

Kringsja 04/12/2009

Marina on the ice field, Kringsja 04/12/2009

Marina on the ice field, Kringsja 04/12/2009

Myself & Marina with fluffy snow @ Kringsja 04/12/2009

Myself & Marina with fluffy snow @ Kringsja 04/12/2009

Linea, Myself, Marina 04/12/2009

Linea, Myself, Marina 04/12/2009

Tree @ Kringsja 04/12/2009

Tree @ Kringsja 04/12/2009

Athletics track, Kringsja 04/12/2009

Athletics track, Kringsja 04/12/2009

Woodland trail @ Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Woodland trail @ Sognsvann 04/12/2009

The above photo makes me think of Narnia… yes, I used to watch the BBC versions as a child! The whole surrounding area of the lake is SO magical covered in snow – the light is ethereal too. It’s so unbelievably beautiful – I can’t even begin to capture quite how beautiful it is in these photos!

Linea and Marina on the frozen lake, Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Linea and Marina on the frozen lake, Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Myself and Linea stood on the frozen lake, Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Myself and Linea stood on the frozen lake, Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Snow covered trees @ Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Snow covered trees @ Sognsvann 04/12/2009

Later that evening, I watched from my window as SIX ambulances drove along toward the lake. The road past Kringsja leads directly to Sognsvann and as the second ambulance appeared to have a canoe or boat attached to the back, I can only presume that someone fell through the ice. This makes me feel queasy, especially as I didn’t see an ambulance travel back along the road – let alone with blue lights flashing. I think what makes me feel so uneasy about it is that I know a number of international students who have never seen snow, let alone been able to imagine a lake being frozen or the dangers it can entail…

Leave a Reply

