My Oslo social life.

So, I’ve introduced you to my educational week in Oslo, I though I’d explain a little bit about the times outside of class…

Earlier this week, on Monday, I met with an Australian student called Tom – he showed me Aker Brygge and around the docks. It’s really lovely there – the boats leave to go to the Fjords, there are numerous bars & restaurants, and there are also lots of new apartments. It reminded me of the work that is currently being done on the docks at Ipswich, England. Apparently Tom came to Oslo two years ago, whilst all the work around Aker Brygge was beginning. Some of it is still ongoing, but it’s a gorgeous area that buzzes with life late in to the night. As we walked past TGI Friday I noticed that the Liverpool v Aston Villa match was on in the bar, leading us to more drinking! I paid 100 kr for a Mojito – about £10, so a little bit more than I would pay in England. Most cocktails were about 100 kr, cider is around 70 kr but it’s too sweet?

On the Tuesday, I went to an ‘International Night’ held at the bar in Sogn Studentby. There I met a number of new people from all across the globe, it was a really good night. Sabine & I shared a bottle of wine, which cost 150 kr, about £15.

A group of us at International Student Night.

A group of us at International Student Night.

Later on that night, one of the International students I had met came into the centre of Oslo. His name is Ben and he is from the US – it’s nice to find students from English speaking countries because their knowledge of English allows for more humorous conversation? I laughed a lot during this night! We went and took photos of the Opera House, in the rain, until 3.30am! It was so spontaneous, great company & the photos are fantastic.

A photo of a section of Oslo Opera House.

A photo of a section of Oslo Opera House.

A photo of part of the Oslo Opera House.

A photo of part of the Oslo Opera House.

Making silhouettes against the Oslo Opera House.

Making silhouettes against the Oslo Opera House.

On Thursday, I was invited to have dinner by Janita – a Norwegian girl I met in ‘Devilles’ bar last week. She lives down Torgatta, about 5 minutes from my hotel. Janita, her flatmate Susanne and I ordered vegetable pizza & watched ‘Låt den rätte komma in’ – a Swedish vampire film, that I believe has received great critical acclaim. I really enjoyed it. I had a great evening with the two girls – they told me of many places in Oslo to visit, including underground clubs etc. They have also said they will take me to Denmark to buy cheap alcohol – apparently the trip across via boat is normally a really good laugh. I cannot wait! Whilst we were talking about drinking & I was mentioning how expensive alcohol is in Norway, they told about ‘home-brew’ (also known as MoonShine) which is an illegal drink that is 97% – it is possible to go blind, and also to die from drinking this stuff, though apparently only if it is not made correctly. 97% alcohol!? Woah.

Every Friday, KHiO has it’s own party – people from outside KHiO come along, and the proceeds go toward the second year Visual Communication trip to Japan. It’s held in the cafeteria, DJ’s perform and the drinks are cheap! It’s a really good atmosphere and also allow the new students to get to know each other. I had a really good night, I hung out with Adrian – a third year Vis Comm student that I get along really well with, and introduced him to a number of the 1st year Vis Comm students too. It ended at 2am, at which point I walked the 10 minutes back to my hotel – I think the last train to Kringsja is around 12.30am, so I won’t be able to stay until the end during most weeks unless I pay for a taxi, or look into getting a night bus.

Sarah & Myself - KHiO Party.

Sarah & Myself - KHiO Party.

Today, I am intending on working on my project – I want to have a good deal of progression & development to show on Monday. I have an idea that I really like, so I am going to finalise a few things and begin work later on… I also might head out to a flea market with Janita and Susanne, and then possibly head to Hovedøya – one of the Oslo Fjords. Eva, the exchange student from Belgium, has also invited me to her Studentby – she is at Bjølsen, to cook some dinner! What a busy day I have! I’m having the time of my life & I don’t intend to stop anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

